Best Book of the Year Award – Update

I’ve mentioned from time to time in the past that I write quite a few of these blog postings all at once, and then schedule them to appear on my blog on particular days in the future. It’s like my own little time machine.  Sometimes it presents a problem, like today.  I’m writing this blog posting BEFORE the Colorado Independent Publishers Association EVVY Awards take place on March 19th, but I’m scheduling this posting to appear a week later, on Sunday, March 27th.  So, by the time this posting actually runs, we will have already announced the results of the Awards Banquet.  But, of course, as I’m writing this, I don’t know who won.  All I know are the finalists.

But knowing the finalists is enough to discuss our Outskirts Press Best Book of the Year Award.  Everyone who chooses to publish with Outskirts Press is automatically eligible to win this award and its $1,500 prize.  All the details are on this page of our website.  Basically, when the dust settles from the requirements, the Outskirts Press Best Book of the Year Award is among one of the EVVY-winning books. 

Here are the EVVY Award finalists, which means one of these 8 titles is going to win the Outskirts Press Best Book of the Year Award for 2010:

The Rise and Fall of Captain Methane
Queen Vernita Meets Sir HeathyBean the Astronomer
The Beads of Lapis Lazuli
Psych Consults
The Key to Job Success in any Career
Whispers of Joy    
Art, Experience and Faith
One Wacky Wasp

I can already tell you that One Wacky Wasp won’t win the Outskirts Press Best Book of the Year award. I wrote that one, and I’m not eligible to win the Best Book of the Year Award. 

This is also the first EVVY Banquet in quite a few years that I will not be attending personally. Traveling requirements prevent me from going.  Kelly S will be receiving awards on behalf of our authors in my place.

And I’ll write the next posting AFTER the awards are presented so I can discuss the next steps of the Best Book of the Year awards a little more specifically.  From among the EVVY winners, Outskirts Press selects three finalists… and more on that in the near future. In the meantime, congratulations to Dorcey Alan Wingo, Dawn Menge/Heath Rhoades, Doris Kenney Marcotte, Robert J. Mignone, Frank B. Leibold, Joy Andreasen, and William Squires, respectively.